TraffLab: Labor Perspectives to Human Trafficking (ERC)

Beyond Criminalization: Expanding The Anti-Trafficking Policy Tool Kit

27 ביוני 2022, 17:00 
 
אילוסטרציה

TraffLab: Labor Perspectives to Human Trafficking (ERC)

Monday, June 27th 2022

5:00-8:00pm (IDT) [3-6pm BST; 4-7pm SAST; 10am-1pm EDT]

Beyond Criminalization: Expanding The Anti-Trafficking Policy Tool Kit

The event will take place online (zoom)

 

The event is free and open to the public. Please register using this link

 

Event description: The event will celebrate the launch of the Alternative Anti-Trafficking Action Plan: A Proposed Model Based on a Labor Approach to Trafficking. This extensive policy paper was written by a group of ten TraffLab researchers from different disciplines (law, sociology, anthropology and industrial relations), and edited by Hila Shamir and Maayan Niezna. It reflects the ‘labor approach’ to trafficking, and aims to offer an alternative vision of how to address human trafficking in Israel given the limitations of the dominant anti-trafficking approach (based mostly on criminal law enforcement and restrictions on migration, with some human rights protections and services to the few identified victims of trafficking) to address the structural causes of severe forms of labor exploitation. The Hebrew version was first published in December 2020. The full report in English is available  here.

Event Participants:

Keynote Speaker: Siobhán Mullally, Special Rapporteur on Trafficking in Persons, United Nations

Roundtable Discussion: Janie Chuang, American University Washington College of Law; Virginia Mantouvalou, University College London (UCL); Joel Quirk, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa; Maayan Niezna, University of Oxford Faculty of Law and TraffLab fellow.

 

For additional details: trafflabor@gmail.com

 

 

 

אוניברסיטת תל אביב עושה כל מאמץ לכבד זכויות יוצרים. אם בבעלותך זכויות יוצרים בתכנים שנמצאים פה ו/או השימוש
שנעשה בתכנים אלה לדעתך מפר זכויות, נא לפנות בהקדם לכתובת שכאן >>